Dr. Yichen Shen

Co-founder, Chairman

Yichen is Chairman and Chief Scientist of Lux Labs and the lead inventor of our cornerstone technology, optical angular selective material. Yichen earned a PhD in Physics from MIT as well as a BA in mathematics, BS in physics, and MA in mathematics from Johns Hopkins. Yichen is a Forbes 30 Under 30 recipient in the Energy category. 


Spencer Powers

Co-founder, CEO

After first teaming up with Yichen in class at MIT, Spencer has led the commercialization efforts of Lux Labs. Spencer earned an MBA from MIT Sloan School of Management and a BA in economics from Boston College. 


Dr. Marin Soljacic

Co-founder, Board Member

Marin is a professor of physics at MIT and board member of Lux Labs. Marin is also a co-founder and board member of WiTricity Corporation and a MacArthur Fellow.


Dr. John Joannopoulos

Co-founder, Advisor

John is professor of physics at MIT and advisor to Lux Labs. John is also the co-founder of OmniGuide, Luminus Devices, WiTricity Corporation, and Typhoon HIL, a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and a director of the Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies.